VW Andretti Rallycross wins Americas Rallycross' 2018 championship

Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross completed the inaugural season of the Americas Rallycross Championship (ARX) with a 1-2 finish at Circuit of the Americas (COTA) this weekend. Tanner Foust made a near-clean sweep of the event, earning a top qualifying spot before winning his semifinal heat and the final—his second event win of the season. Scott Speed fought back to finish second in the final, securing his, and the team’s, fourth-consecutive rallycross championship.

“It’s been an incredible four years with this team, and I’m so happy to win another championship with everyone from Volkswagen and Andretti,” said Speed. “We’ve worked so hard to develop this program and these cars—I feel like I’ve grown a lot as a driver, too—so it’s amazing to reap the rewards of all that effort with the amazing results we’ve gotten.”

After a series of disappointing qualifying heat results, Speed’s grasp of the championship lead seemed tenuous. While Foust marched to two straight qualifying wins, Speed was mired in seventh-place in the standings, before a victory in Q4 boosted him to second behind teammate Foust. The No. 41 Oberto Circle K Beetle Rallycross driver converted pole position in his semifinal to a win, all but guaranteeing the championship victory.

“What a strong weekend for our team,” exclaimed Foust after the finale. “We were up front in a variety of conditions and there was never really a question about what the strongest package was. I’m stoked for everyone to celebrate another championship and can’t wait to get back on track again.”

2018 ARX at Circuit of the Americas


In 2018, Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross won each of the season’s four races and both of its drivers never finished off the podium. In its five years of competition, the team has won four drivers’ and three team championships. The team’s cars have finished on the podium 58 times, including 30 event wins.

A highlight broadcast show of the COTA weekend will air on CBS Sports, Wednesday, October 3 at 8 PM (ET).